HGSG Student Paper Award Competition

Pen: Photo Flickr

Scroll this

by Kirsten Greer


The Historical Geography Specialty Group (HGSG) of the AAG will sponsor two student paper award competitions in 2014:

  • Ralph Brown Award – for papers written by Master’s-level students
  • Andrew Hill Clark Award – for papers written at the Ph.D. level

Each award carries with it a $150 first prize.  Second prizes of lesser amounts may be awarded at the discretion of the competition judges.  In evaluating the papers, preference will be given to those based on primary sources of information rather than literature reviews.

Eligibility Notes:

Eligibility for the awards is open to any graduate student who has or will present a paper at any professional conference beginning the day after the 2013 AAG Annual Meeting and ending the last day of the 2014 Annual Meeting. If the paper you wish to enter for the Ralph Brown award is based upon research conducted while you were a Master’s student, you are eligible to enter this competition even if you are now a Ph.D. student.  Students who have already won a Ralph Brown Award or Andrew Hill Clark Award in the past are NOT eligible to submit for the same award again. (Previous winners of a Ralph Brown Award, however, are eligible to submit for the Andrew Hill Clark Award.)

Submission Procedure:

Students wishing to participate should send copies of a conference-length paper of no more than 11 double-spaced pages (plus notes, figures, etc.) to each of the committee members listed below.  Papers should be sent by e-mail in MS Word or PDF format.  Please specify in your email [1] the name of the award for which you are applying, [2] the graduate program in which you are enrolled, and [3] the conference at which your paper was (or will be) presented. The deadline for receiving materials is March 1, 2014.

All questions should be directed to the Paper Awards Committee Chair.

Kirsten Greer, Assistant Professor in Geography & History

Nipissing University, Ontario, Canada


The following two tabs change content below.
Kirsten Greer is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Geography and History at Nipissing University, and the Canada Research Chair (CRC) in Global Environmental Histories and Geographies. Her CRC program addresses specifically reparations “in place” from Northern Ontario to the Caribbean through interdisciplinary, integrative, and engaged (community-based) scholarship in global environmental change research. As a critical historical geographer, she is interested in human-environment relations in the past; the environmental histories and legacies of the British Empire; and the politics of biodiversity heritage in the global North Atlantic. Greer is the past chair of the Historical Geography Specialty Group of the American Association of Geographers (2016-2019). She is of Scottish-Scandinavian descent, from the unceded lands of Tiohtià:ke/Montréal. She currently lives and works on the traditional territory of the Nbisiing Nishnaabeg, and the lands protected by the Robinson Huron Treaty of 1850.

NiCHE encourages comments and constructive discussion of our articles. We reserve the right to delete comments that fail to meet our guidelines including comments under aliases, or that contain spam, harassment, or attacks on an individual.